Skip to Main Content

Faculty Fellows/Equity Advisors

Program Overview

 As a demonstration of Florida International University’s commitment to institutional transformation, faculty have the opportunity to serve as FIU ADVANCE Faculty Fellows.

ADVANCE Faculty Fellows with the Office to Advance Women, Equity & Diversity receive a two course release for a one-year term. ADVANCE Faculty Fellows who have joint positions as Equity Advisors with their respective units receive a one course release for a one-year term.

Faculty Fellows gain experience with university leadership and administration and make valuable contributions to increasing diversity and improving the climate at FIU. Fellows participate in all aspects of FIU ADVANCE project initiatives, as well as assume leadership within one of the four major activities of the Office to Advance Women, Equity & Diversity.

For more information about the Faculty Fellows Program, email

Current Faculty Fellows

Our 2019-2020 AWED Faculty Fellows are:

 tawia ansah

Tawia Ansah, Professor, Law



heather blatt

Heather Blatt, Associate Professor, English






isaac burt

Isaac Burt, Associate Professor, Counseling, Recreation and School Psychology


 suzanne hollander

Suzanne Hollander, Instructor, Real Estate

Current Equity Advisors

Our 2019-2020 Equity Advisors are:

 caroline simpson

Caroline Simpson, Professor, Physics, College of Arts, Sciences & Education


susanne zwingel

Susanne Zwingel, Associate Professor, Politics & International Relations, School of International & Public Affairs