Skip to Main Content

Marie T. Mora, Ph.D.

Title: Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Diversity; Professor, Economics, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Marie T. Mora is Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Diversity and Professor of Economics at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley. Since fall 2012, Dr. Mora has been part of the Leadership Team for her institution’s NSF ADVANCE IT Program. She co-founded and chaired the Women’s Faculty Network and oversees the ADVANCE Program’s Leadership Institute, Administrative Fellows Program, and Associate to Full Program. In her discipline, she is director and PI of the NSF-funded American Economic Association’s (AEA’s) Mentoring Program, a national program for economics Ph.D. students from underrepresented racial/ethnic minority groups. She previously served on the AEA Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession (which she chaired in 2011), and was a founding member and President of the American Society of Hispanic Economists. 

Mora – a labor economist – has been invited to share her research expertise on Latino/Hispanic socioeconomic outcomes at institutions and agencies across the country, including the White House and the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Her publications include the recently released Population, Migration, and Socioeconomic Outcomes among Island and Mainland Puerto Ricans: La Crisis Boricua (Lexington Books, 2017, with Alberto Dávila and Havidán Rodríguez); the award-winning Hispanic Entrepreneurs in the 2000s: An Economic Profile and Policy Implications (Stanford University Press, with Dávila); two co-edited volumes; and numerous journal articles and book chapters. 

Mora’s recent national honors include the 2017 Inspiring Leaders in STEM Award (INSIGHT into Diversity magazine); the 2016 Outstanding Support of Hispanic Issues in Higher Education Award (American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education); the 2015 Cesar Estrada Chavez Award (American Association for Access, Equity, and Diversity); and the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus award (Department of Economics, University of New Mexico (UNM)). She earned her Ph.D. in Economics from Texas A&M University, and B.A. and M.A. degrees from UNM.